Roller Derby Test O'Matic

Turn left and learn the rules.

Pass mark: 36 / 45
# Question Answer Mark
1 A non-Pivot Blocker false starts for being out of position at the jam-starting whistle when the Blocker:
  1. Lines up behind of a Pivot Blocker's hip.
  2. Is touching outside the track boundary.
  3. Is touching on or behind the Jammer Line.
2 An in bounds, upright and skating skater has re-entered the track from out of bounds having passed one in-play opposing skater which results in them having bettered their position. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. No Impact/No Penalty
  3. Expulsion
3 True or False: A Blocker 16 feet (4.9 meters) from the front of the Pack can block and assist.
  1. False
  2. True
4 A skater mishears an Official issuing a penalty and skates out of bounds thinking it has been issued to them when it has not been. This is a/an:
  1. Expulsion
  2. Penalty
  3. Legal Play
  4. No Impact/No Penalty
5 At the conclusion of a timeout, what is the longest time to wait until the next jam starts (assume these are regular jams, not overtime jams)?
  1. 30 seconds
  2. As long as necessary
  3. 10 seconds
  4. 1 minute
6 How many support staff are allowed in the designated team area during a game?
  1. 2
  2. 1
  3. 3
  4. 4
7 A skater makes temporary contact using their forearms on a legal target zone of an opposing skater. The opposing skater does not need to adjust their skating. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. No Impact/No Penalty
8 True or False: If assisting a stationary or downed skater, a player giving the assist may be stationary.
  1. False
  2. True
9 A skater re-enters the track having passed a downed skater. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. No Impact/No Penalty
10 When passing the star, what is transferred?
  1. Lead Jammer status
  2. The position of Jammer and Lead Jammer status
  3. Nothing
  4. The position of Jammer
11 True or False: A referee doesn't need to warn a skater who is out of play prior to issuing a Failure to Return to the Engagement Zone penalty.
  1. True
  2. False
12 A Captain calls a timeout when they are allowed to do so. This is a/an:
  1. Delay of Game Penalty
  2. No Impact/No Penalty
  3. Expulsion
  4. Legal Play
13 True or False: Substitutions are allowed if a penalty carries over to the next jam (excluding expulsion, fouling out and injury).
  1. True
  2. False
14 True or False: Blocking includes counter-blocking.
  1. True
  2. False
15 Two skaters grasp each other in such a way that when challenged it prevents an opponent passing between them. This is a/an:
  1. No Impact/No Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. Forearms Penalty
  4. Multi-Player Penalty
16 True or False: Blockers who are upright and stationary, and within 10 feet (3 meters) of a pack skater, are part of the pack.
  1. False
  2. True
17 A skater is waved off a full penalty box and re-enters the track in front of one teammate. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. No Impact/No Penalty
18 A skater tries but fails to kick an opponent with the intention of tripping them. This is a/an:
  1. Expulsion
  2. No Impact/No Penalty
  3. Penalty
19 True or False: If a skater's, or group of skaters', actions create a no-pack situation they may be penalized as directed in the rules.
  1. False
  2. True
20 True or False: A block initiated with the shoulder in which there is forearm contact to the opponent but does not cause a change in their relative position will result in a Penalty.
  1. False
  2. True
21 True or False: If a downed skater who fell small is returning to the track (e.g. they fell down and slid across the apex), they are subject to Blocking Out of Bounds penalties.
  1. True
  2. False
22 If a skater is not wearing the Pivot helmet cover, isn't lined up in the Pivot starting position, but has the helmet cover in their hand ...
  1. They are a Pivot
  2. They are a Blocker, unable to become a Pivot
  3. They are a Blocker, able to become a Pivot
23 True or False: The skating surface and boundary lines don't need to have a particularly high contrast with each other.
  1. True
  2. False
24 A skater, while stopped on the track, assists a downed teammate to an upright position. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. Legal Play
25 Numbers on the back of uniforms must be ...
  1. able to be read by officials who are positioned anywhere within the track or on its boundary
  2. able to be read by skaters who are at least 10 feet (3 meters) behind
  3. able to be read by officials who are positioned within 20 feet (6 meters) of the pack
26 A skater has an improper uniform. This is a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. No Impact/No Penalty
  3. Expulsion
27 Counter-blocking is...
  1. any motion/movement away from an oncoming block by the receiving skater which is designed to get away from an opponent's block
  2. any block against an opposing skater
  3. any block deemed "counter productive"
  4. any motion/movement towards an oncoming block by the receiving skater which is designed to counteract an opponent's block
28 True or False: Officials can only call an Official Timeout between jams and not during a jam in progress.
  1. True
  2. False
29 Player names, with regard to uniforms ...
  1. must be clearly written on the back of the uniform
  2. must be clearly written on the back of the uniform and the helmet
  3. must be clearly written on a small label inside the uniform
  4. are optional
30 Where must each skater visibly display their number?
  1. Sleeve or arm
  2. Wrist
  3. Hip or thigh
  4. Face
31 Passing the Star can be done ...
  1. Only inside of the Engagement Zone
  2. Only between the Pivot and Jammer start lines
  3. Only outside of the Engagement Zone
  4. Anywhere on track
32 Entry to the penalty box which causes a teammate to either move or be forcibly contacted is subject to a/an:
  1. Penalty
  2. Expulsion
  3. No Impact/No Penalty
33 Technical infractions that give the offending team an advantage but do not necessarily impact a specific opponent are known as:
  1. No Impact/No Penalties
  2. Penalties
  3. Expulsions
  4. Illegal Procedures
34 A team has already used all of their timeouts before the end of the game. However they still request and successfully got another team timeout. This is a/an:
  1. Delay of Game Penalty
  2. No Impact/No Penalty
  3. Expulsion
  4. Misconduct Penalty
35 A font, with regard to the number on the back of uniforms, is said to be readable if ...
  1. it can be easily read and distinguished from the other players' numbers by the officials, other players, and fans.
  2. it can be easily read and distinguished from the other players' numbers by other players
  3. it is one of a set list of readable fonts
  4. it can be read easily at a distance of 20 feet (6 meters)
36 True or False: A skater may not return in bounds in front of a skater who blocked them out of bounds even if the initiating skater also goes out of bounds
  1. True
  2. False
37 An in bounds skater may actively block or hit a returning skater when ....
  1. both of the returning skater's skates are completely within the track territory
  2. both of the returning skater's skates are touching any in bounds track territory
  3. no part of the returning skater's skates are touching any in bounds track territory
  4. any part of the returning skater's skates are touching any in bounds track territory
38 If an overtime jam ends before 2 minutes has passed, what happens?
  1. The score stands and additional overtime jams are played only if the scores are tied or at the Head Referee's discretion.
  2. The score for that jam is discounted and another overtime jam is played.
  3. The score stands and another overtime jam is played.
  4. The game is a tie
39 True or False: A skater is returning to the track and has some part (not all) of their skates outside of the track territory. They are a target and can be hit.
  1. False
  2. True
40 Reckless contact with an opponent while executing a multi-player block in an illegal manner is a/an ...
  1. No Impact/No Penalty
  2. Penalty
  3. Expulsion
41 True or false: If a No Pack situation occurs by all the skaters from one team being more than 10 feet (3 meters) ahead of all the skaters in the opposing team, the front team can stop skating and starts coasting, and assuming the pack then immediately reforms, they won't be assessed a penalty.
  1. False
  2. True
42 Numbers on the arm/sleeve must be:
  1. Between two inches (5 cm) and five inches (13 cm) tall
  2. Between one inch (2.54 cm) and three inches (7.5 cm) tall
  3. Between one inch (2.54 cm) and four inches (10 cm) tall
  4. Between two inches (5 cm) and four (10 cm) inches tall
43 Red Jammer illegally leaves the penalty box before their time is up; they had 3 seconds remaining. A ref gives Red Jammer a penalty for this action. Whilst this is happening Blue Jammer gets a penalty and by the time Red Jammer sits back in the Penalty Box, Blue Jammer has been sat for 15 seconds. How long does Red Jammer stay in the penalty box?
  1. 18 seconds
  2. 33 seconds
  3. 10 seconds
  4. 48 seconds
44 True or False: Blockers must always line up behind the pivots' hips.
  1. True
  2. False
45 A team accidentally forgets to field a jammer. The opposing jammer scores their first point of a scoring pass, how many points are they awarded?
  1. 1
  2. 3
  3. 4
  4. 2
Pass mark: 36 / 45

I've finished! Mark my test, please.

You can only have your test marked once, so be sure to double-check all of your answers! Your responses will be saved when you have your test marked.

Link to this test, answers are randomised every time (shorten using bit.ly):

Edit and save this test